Yves Saint Laurent OMBRES DUOLUMIERES in #31 (Midnight Blue – Solar Gold)

From YSL’s official website, OMBRES DUOLUMIERES was launched “As homage to the spirit of Monsieur Saint Laurent, these vivacious, couture-inspired color pairs combine beautifully to dress eyes in a seamlessly sophisticated look that’s luminous and lasting.

For me, I love all the YSL’s packaging, so classy and feminine. I got these two duo eyeshadow palettes (#27 & #31) from Yves Saint Laurent Beauté Opens At ION. Thank you YSL for being so generous!

Our door gifts 🙂

What lies inside individual pouch.

YSL OMBRES DUOLUMIERES in #27 & #31

YSL Ombres Duolumieres #31

 

Swatched quite true to the pan.

YSL Ombres Duolumieres  #31

YSL described this duo shades as Midnight Blue and Solar Gold. But I think that the darker shade looked more like dark purple, in the pan and on my hand swatch. This dark shade is supposed to “create depth, contour and intensity“.  Me think it is a good smoky eye colour, or try to tone it down with a very light hand like what I did for the face swatch below.

Solar Gold is such a nice and apt name to the shade. However, this glittery shadow had quite bad fall outs and did not adhere very well onto the lids. Intensity and colour was too light and similar to my eyelids, that it did not stand out. However, it did create a subtle and illuminating look which was rather suitable for office make up. But I prefer smoother formula to this gritty texture.

 

Under indoor office lighting

In direct sunlight facing the window.

Sheer wash of colours to create a subtle look

Overall the shades were a bit dry and would not translate well onto dry skin, therefore I recommend using an eye primer before actual application. The dark purplish-blue shade was tricky to work with, it looked like bruises on my eyes when I first tried it out. I tried not to cover a large eye area for this shade and just lightly added some onto my lid crease to add depth, and it worked. So you might need some time to trial and error with this shade to find the perfect application.

XOXO
zibbie ♔

Leave a Reply

