Chanel Sari d’Eau Rouge Coco Shine #44 Review, Photos, Swatches

Chanel launched its new range of Rouge Coco Shine in the beginning of 2011 when all the lightweight, sheer lipsticks with finishes akin to a lipgloss were all in the rage. Sari d’Eau was my first Coco Shine and I loved it for its fuss-free application and rather natural transition from lipgloss to lipsticks for a lipstick newbie like me.

Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Sari D’eau

Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Sari d’Eau

It is housed in the signature Chanel Rouge lux black casing with the gold rim and the interlock Cs. It has got some substantiated weight to it which doesn’t feel like cheap plastic. Whipping it out of your purse to reapply it kinda feels like you are in a Chanel Rouge adver *pouts

Bare lips

Two coats of Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Sari d’Eau

In direct sunlight, can you see the glistering gold specks?

I would describe it as a semi-opaque orange colour with tangerine-gold shimmer and a glossy shine. Even with two coats, it allowed my natural lip to peek through, kinda like jelly texture. By the way, it’s actually more opaque than the rest of the Rouge Coco Shine formula, which is supposed to be very sheer. Thus I didn’t get the other colours as they didn’t show up well on my rather pigmented lips.

Full face shot

 

Off to JB!

Rouge Coco Shine has 3 g of product as compared to 3.5 g for Rouge Allures and Rouge Cocos, but they all cost the same (SGD 44). But because of the very emollient base, you will tend to over-apply the product, (like me, I prefer two coats) and also the need for reapplication often through the day (last 3 – 4 hours on me, without eating) means that you’ll go through a tube much faster than other lipsticks in Chanel’s range.

I love this colour overall and it never fails to brighten up my face and mood 🙂

XOXO
zibbie ♔

Leave a Reply

