Home Made Shepherd’s Pie!

 

Sometime in mid October I had a mini picnic with my Uni friends to celebrate October babies (three in the clique!). Made this Shepherd’s pie from scratch early on Sunday morning ๐Ÿ™‚

Below are the step-by-step demo, thought you might be interested ๐Ÿ˜€

The raw ingredients

Basically I just put in whatever I like, LOVE mushrooms (wanted to put in Shitake mushrooms but no stocks). Since it was October, the pumpkin month, I thought of mixing pumpkin into the potato to make it more festive looking. (BTW I hate pumpkins, and sometimes I enjoy doing things I hate, weird right)

Naked raw ingredients

Cutting the potatoes up before boiling

Smaller pieces easily to soften

Boil the potatoes in salt water

While waiting for the potatoes to boil, steam the pumpkins till soft enough to mash.

I am not very sure how to deal with pumpkins (I don’t eat them remember?) But I observed that they will melt / disappear into the soup base in steamboats. So I thought these might disintegrate if I boil them. So I steam them instead. Steam until a fork can poke through will little resistance.

Onions -sobs

The fillings for the pie. Marinated minced beef, mushrooms, baby corns, carrots and onions.

Fry the onions with butter

I use SCS butter which is one of the mostย fragrantย massly available butter in Singapore. Surprising this frying step took 3 X longer than I expected as the ingredients are unable to soften.

After frying the ingredients for 30 minutes or so.

Scoop evenly out onto cute aluminium cups. My ratio is about 3/5 fillings to 2/5 mash potato.

Mash the potatoes with pumpkins and sour cream and salt and butter.

Add some chicken / beef stock into the mashed potato for aย flavourfulย taste.

Scoop the mash potatoes onto the cups with an artistic hand.

Sprinkle some Cheese and herbs

Put them in the oven and bake for whatever temperature you like and whatever minutes you want (ok until the chesse turns a bit brown)

And you are done!

Shepherd’s Pie

XOXO
zibbie โ™”

Leave a Reply

