Art Jamming at Arteastiq Tea Bone China @ Millenia Walk 15th DEC 2012

(the only thing artistic about me, hahhaha)

(the only thing artistic about me, hahhaha)

A not so secret secret about me: I have always dreaded Art lessons since Primary School days. I was so happy that there is no more mandatory Art Lessons in Upper Secondary onwards (YAY!!!!). I totally suck at Drawing / painting / moulding / sculpturing etc etc and the highest grade for Art that I had ever gotten was a B –  :/

But some times I just feel like revisiting activities which I used to dread, to see if talents are bestowed onto me suddenly or just for the fun of torturing myself (weird).

This session of art jamming was the only arty thingy I did in ten years and I have to admit that I ACTUALLY ENJOYED IT 🙂

Somehow I looked more like a carpenter than a painter in this apron.

Somehow I looked more like a carpenter than a painter in this apron.

I wanted to book the session at Mandarin Gallery but it was closed for a private event. But the outlet at Millenia Walk did not disappoint!

Arteastiq was thoughtful to provide the apron so that the acrylic paint does not splatter onto our clothes. But I had gotten some paint on my arms and thighs after the session, clumsy me!

50cm by 50cm canvass

50cm by 50cm canvass

Some water to wash the brushes and dilute the paint

Some water to wash the brushes and dilute the paint

Free paint brushes!

Free paint brushes!

Feels like playing with make up brushes but I don’t know which painting brush is for what purpose!

The acrylic paints

The acrylic paints

Find the selection of colours a bit limited. No pink, no purple 😦 Of course you can mix the colours to get the colours eg red + white = pink, blue + red + white = purple. But I was also looking for Silver and Gold colours!!! I need some shimmer / glitter / glistening in my life!!!

Pencil for sketching and napkins for drying wet brushes.

Pencil for sketching and napkins for drying wet brushes.

My mind was as blank as this canvass on that day....

My mind was as blank as this canvass on that day….

Meanwhile, Sher started drawing her picture already!!

Meanwhile, Sher started drawing her picture already!!

After 20 minutes....

After 20 minutes….

I was trying to sketch a stripe of houndstooth pattern at the bottom of the canvass, but realized that I don’t know how to draw 😦 Stuck for a good 20 minutes before I gave up and bought additional sponge brush (sgd 1) to paint the background.

Oh if you did not prepare a picture as guide or have anything in mind, you can look through their archive of pictures provided by Arteastiq. Choose from an array of artistic collection and request for a colour copy, they will gladly help you print out!

After 1.5 hours... Finally a happier smile on my face!

After 1 hours… Finally a happier smile on my face!

I ordered the pear tea, which tasted great! It even had real slices of pear in it! Yummy!

Three slices!

Three slices!

:D

😀

Half completed painting!

Half completed painting!

The paint palette where I mixed my own colours!

The paint palette where I mixed my own colours!

Thought this paint palette was pretty cool because it was like a stack of papers with plastic-y film on one side. So convenient, no need to wash any palette, just tear the sheet away for a brand new sheet!

Sher's piece! Arty contemporary painting.

Sher’s piece! Arty contemporary painting.

And mine... Still left the below stripe bare, hoping that I have time to figure out how to draw the houndstooth

And mine… Still left the below stripe bare, hoping that I have time to figure out how to draw the houndstooth

Drawing hearts is much more easy!!

But changed my mind! Drawing hearts is much more easy!!

Scarlet Red Hearts <3

Scarlet Red Hearts ❤

And now it's done!!!

And now it’s done!!!

Packed in a box for us to bring home! With openings for the acrylic to dry.

Packed in a box for us to bring home! With openings for the acrylic paint to dry.

http://instagram.com/p/TQOSbqgLAC/

My master piece!

My master piece!

Nett price for a 50cm by 50cm canvass and a three hours painting session with a free beverage is 48 sgd. The canvass can be upgraded to 60cm by 80cm for sgd 10 and hourly extension is at sgd 5 / hour. Prices are quite steep but it was a good experience and people don’t usually do this every month (unless you are super rich!!)… Otherwise investing in acrylic set at home is much more worth it!

Millenia Walk, #02-19/20
Raffles Boulevard, Singapore 239596

Opens:
Sun to Thu 11:00 am to 10:00 pm
Fri and Sat 11:00 am to 11:00 pm

For Tea Bone China reservation,
please call 6333 5116

For enquiries & reservation on Art Jam,
please call 6333 5117

XOXO
zibbie ♔